商业及政府

经济制裁和出口管制

美国法律授权美国总统有权出于对对外政策和国家安全原因的考虑,对外国及其国民实施商业禁运和经济制裁。这些由美国财政部外国资产控制办公室(OFAC) 来管理和强制执行的法规异常复杂,并且不断变化,影响深远。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所在协助客户遵循涉及古巴、伊朗、北朝鲜等国家在内的美国商业禁运和经济制裁程序方面,有其独特的经验。同时Mowry & Grimson律师事务所与美国财政部外国资产控制办公室密切合作,为客户具体的交易获得许可证,并就潜在的强制执行行为进行和解谈判。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所还协助美国公司或者外国公司建立有效的合规程序来避免美国对选定的国家及其国民所进行的贸易制裁。

美国政府对军民两用的产品,技术及软件的出口有着严格的出口管制或许可要求。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所在协助经营该类产品的公司顺利获取美国商务部及美国国务院颁发的出口执照,以及及时地提供并更新纷繁复杂的美国出口管制法律和法规方面有着非常丰富的经验。对于美国政府给予生产厂商的 “违反出口管制法” 的不合理判决, Mowry & Grimson律师事务所可以协助生产厂商向政府提交自愿披露文件,对不公平或不合理的裁决进行抗辩。Mowry & Grimson的客户包括众多美国电子,技术和医疗设备的生产商,以及大学和保险公司。

反商业贿赂

Mowry & Grimson律师事务所可以向客户就涉及“反海外腐败行为法” (FCPA)  的相关事项提供咨询 。 FCPA  通常禁止以左右外国政府官方行动或决定为腐败目的而向外国政府官员或外国政党、官员及候选人提供直接或间接款项或许诺的行为等。 FCPA  同时还要求公开上市交易的公司严格遵守财务和会计记录保管的相关法规。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所的律师和顾问曾为客户就 FCPA  是否适用于提议中的国际商业业务和活动等相关问题提供咨询服务;协助客户最大限度的降低因代理商和经销商等第三方的原因而导致的潜在责任,同时,还为我们的客户就开发和实施有效的 FCPA  合规程序提供咨询建议。在美国和其他国家,我们曾经进行,或者建议客户进行FCPA 尽职调查以及合并/收购之前的发现和披露工作。

市场准入

世贸组织 和自由贸易协议旨在扩大私营公司的市场准入机制,但有时,无论是作为国内进口商,或是试图进入外国市场,很多公司仍然会遇到不合理的或非法的贸易壁垒。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所的律师可向美国和国外公司,以及非政府组织就与全球特定地区相关的广泛问题提供咨询建议。通过与当地的律师事务所的共同合作, Mowry & Grimson律师事务所曾为客户提供过包括美国-南非贸易政策,南美海关法及区域自由贸易协定影响等方面的咨询建议。Mowry & Grimson律师对潜在的外国市场拥有独到的眼光,可协助客户制定进入战略,制定跨越销售障碍的解决方案,我们所做的一切努力的唯一目标就是帮助我们的客户实现其商业目标。为了达成该目标,Mowry & Grimson律师事务所有能力结合全球资源向客户提供有关法律、商业和政策方面的建议,信息并提供代理服务。

卫生和植物检疫措施

无论是在美国或海外,卫生与植物检疫措施(SPS)对食品和农产品的贸易有着重大影响。美国政府实施SPS措施的目的是保护人类,动物和植物的生命和健康远离各种危害,其中包括病虫害,危险食品添加剂,污染物,毒素和有机体。美国政府会根据最新的病虫害威胁对SPS进行不断的修正。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所的律师可以协助客户了解美国国内和国际上有关SPS的新规定,并指导客户遵循有关健康和安全的标准。

Business & Government

Economic Sanctions & Export Controls

United States law authorizes the President to impose trade embargoes and economic sanctions on foreign countries and their nationals for foreign policy and national security reasons. These rules, which are primarily administered and enforced by the Treasury Department's Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC), are extremely complex, constantly evolving, and far-reaching in terms of their overseas application. Mowry & Grimson attorneys have substantial experience in assisting clients in complying with U.S. trade embargoes and economic sanctions programs involving countries such as Cuba, Iran and North Korea. Mowry & Grimson attorneys have worked directly with OFAC, both in obtaining licenses for specific client transactions and in negotiating settlements with respect to potential enforcement actions. We have also assisted U.S. and foreign companies in establishing effective compliance programs to adhere to U.S. trade sanctions against designated countries and their nationals.

The U.S. government also imposes export controls, or licensing requirements, on exports of dual-use goods, technology and software to other countries. Mowry & Grimson attorneys have extensive experience in assisting U.S. and foreign manufacturers in navigating the complex web of U.S. export control laws and in obtaining export licenses from the U.S. Department of Commerce and U.S. Department of State. Mowry & Grimson attorneys have also defended companies against U.S. government enforcement actions alleging violation of U.S. export control laws and assisted companies in filing voluntary disclosures with the government. Mowry & Grimson attorneys have counted U.S. electronics, technology and medical device manufacturers, as well as universities and insurance companies, among their clients.

Anti-Bribery

Mowry & Grimson offers counsel to clients in matters involving the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act (FCPA). The FCPA generally prohibits direct or indirect payments, offers of payments or promises of payments, to a foreign government official or a foreign political party, official or candidate made for the corrupt purpose of influencing an official foreign governmental act or decision. The FCPA also requires publicly traded companies to comply with its accounting and recordkeeping provisions. Mowry & Grimson attorneys have advised clients on the FCPA's applicability to proposed international business transactions and activities. We have also assisted clients seeking to minimize potential liability stemming from the acts of third parties, such as agents and distributors and counseled corporate clients to develop and implement effective FCPA compliance programs. We have conducted, or advised clients undergoing, FCPA due diligence interviews and pre-merger/acquisition discovery and disclosures in both U.S. and foreign countries.

Market Access

The WTO and free trade agreements are intended to expand market access opportunities for private companies, but sometimes companies still encounter unfair or illegal trade barriers both at home, as importers, and abroad when trying to break into foreign markets. Mowry & Grimson advises U.S. and foreign companies and non-governmental organizations on a wide range of issues targeted to specific global regions. Partnered with local firms, Mowry & Grimson's past efforts have included advising companies on U.S.-South Africa trade policy, South American customs laws and the impact of regional free-trade agreements. Mowry & Grimson can identify promising foreign markets, devise entry strategies, and craft solutions to market obstacles, all with the aim of helping our clients achieve their business objectives. To that end, we provide legal, business and political advice, intelligence, and representation in capitals around the globe.

Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures

Sanitary and phytosanitary (SPS) measures affect food and farm product trade, both in the United States and abroad.  Governments apply SPS measures to protect human, animal and plant life and health from a variety of dangers, including pests and diseases, dangerous food additives, contaminants, toxins and organisms.  Governments change SPS requirements often in response to emerging threats.  Mowry & Grimson attorneys assist clients in navigating domestic and international SPS requirements and assuring compliance with related health and safety standards.