海关和边境保护

美国海关法要求进口商必须谨慎对待产品进口过程,这就要求进口商确保在清关时就产品的分类,价值,原产地及反倾销反补贴税申报提供准确和真实的报关信息。美国海关和边境保护局通过增加对进口商的进口申报,进口程序及记录系统的审查来确保进口商的行为符合法律及法规的规定,尤其是针对反倾销及反补贴涉诉进口产品。违规行为可能会导致增收额外的关税或罚款,严重的情况下可能导致刑事指控。

Mowry & Grimson律师事务所可以向美国进口商就有关进口货物的法律及监管方面提供咨询建议,帮助美国进口商履行内部海关审核,同时实施并保持有效的内部海关合规性程序。在美国海关和边境保护管理局,我们可就评估审计,快速回复及单一问题的审计,处罚调查以及其他执法行动等方面为我们的客户进行代理。一旦有触犯法规的事情发生,我们的律师会协助进口商准备在合适的时间做出主要说明以减少更加严重的处罚。

另外,我们还与客户就美国海关-商贸反恐怖联盟(C-TPAT)所提出的供应链安全义务之规定进行合作,同时,Mowry & Grimson律师事务所的律师还就进口产品分类及评估问题向客户提供咨询建议,并且就确保进口商遵循美国的原产国标志和标签的要求与进口商共同合作,同时也为全球跨国产品的商标问题提供咨询建议。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所的律师还协助进口商就如何遵循美国食品和药物管理局所颁布的针对进口食品,营养补品,医疗设备和化妆品的标签和其他要求进行相应工作。

Mowry & Grimson律师事务所经常受邀对在合并和收购过程中可能涉及的潜在海关问题进行尽职调查。在企业结构变更之前进行潜在的海关问题调查,进而确定适当的交易价值并减少因企业前身违规而后续需要承担责任的风险,这一点是至关重要的。我们律师事务所的合伙人和曾参与企业合并和收购的律师一起确保参与该交易的各利益方能够全面了解海关问题是如何对该笔交易完成前后产生影响的。

Customs & Border Protection

Customs laws require that importers exercise reasonable care in entering their merchandise into the United States. This mandate requires importers to ensure that declarations made on Customs documents regarding classification, valuation, country of origin and application of antidumping/countervailing duties, among other elements, are true and correct. United States Customs and Border Protection (CBP) is increasingly conducting audits of importers to determine whether their declarations, import procedures and recordkeeping systems comply with the applicable rules and regulations. Enforcement has been especially rigorous with respect to importers of products subject to antidumping and countervailing duty orders. Violations can result in additional duty or penalty assessments or, in egregious situations, criminal sanctions.

Mowry & Grimson assists U.S. importers in performing internal customs audits and implementing and maintaining effective internal customs compliance programs. We represent clients before CBP in focused assessment audits, quick-response and single-issue audits, penalty investigations and enforcement actions, including seizures. Where violations do occur, our attorneys work with importers to prepare prior disclosures in appropriate circumstances to minimize the company's exposure to more severe penalties.

In addition, Mowry & Grimson attorneys work with companies regarding their supply chain security obligations under the Customs-Trade Partnership Against Terrorism Program (C-TPAT).  We regularly advise companies regarding the U.S. regulations governing the classification and valuation of imported products and work with importers to ensure compliance with U.S. country-of-origin marking and labeling requirements. The firm advises global corporations on multinational product marking concerns. We also assist companies in complying with labeling and other requirements imposed by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration on imports of food, nutritional supplements, medical devices and cosmetics.

Mowry & Grimson is also frequently called upon to conduct due diligence reviews of potential Customs issues for companies involved in merger and acquisition transactions.  It is critical to vet potential Customs issues prior to corporate changes in order to determine proper valuation of the deal and minimize risks of successor liability based on violations by a predecessor company.  Our firm partners with attorneys involved in the corporate side of merger and acquisition transactions to ensure that all parties to the transaction have a complete picture of how Customs issues affect the transaction both before and after the deal is consummated.