贸易责任性

日益突出的美国国内和国际贸易规则,以及全球对贸易行为中应体现的对社会和环境责任感的要求,使得生产商和进口商面临沉重的负担。随着贸易需求的变化,企业必须寻求新的战略,在遵守贸易程序要求的前提下保持市场的竞争力。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所可以协助美国国内及国际客户确保其货物或商业行为符合有关政府及个人的质量及安全标准的要求。

非法砍伐法案

雷斯法案是美国最早的野生动物保护法,美国国会在2008年对雷斯法案进行了修正,意图解决令全球困扰的非法砍伐问题。除了对非法砍伐的植物及植物产品所实施的严格的贸易禁令之外,该修正案还要求进口商要针对进口的所有包含任何植物或植物产品提交相关声明。作为代表进口商权利和利益的某联盟的首批成员,Mowry & Grimson律师事务所参与了该联盟与美国国会和联邦政府机构就雷斯法案修订案的范围以及实施方案所进行的磋商会议。我们的律师还帮助国内,国际制造商和进口商建立并实施相关程序,保证相关贸易行为完全遵守雷斯法案修正案的相关规定。

2008年 消费品安全改进法案

2008年的消费品安全改进法案(简称“CPSIA”)及相关的消费品安全法规和规则要求所有消费品必须进行测试,并提供证书及其它书面文件,以证明其符合由美国消费品安全委员会所提出并要求遵循的任何规则,标准,禁令,法规或条例。这些要求对所有产品都适用,无论是国内生产的还是国外进口的消费品,相应的违法行为将会受到经济惩罚或刑事指控。Mowry & Grimson 律师事务所的律师可以向客户就如何遵循该法案,以及其他消费品安全要求提供咨询,并向被指控违反消费品安全改进法案和其他相关法律的公司提供代理服务。

冲突矿石法案

作为多德 - 弗兰克华尔街改革和消费者生产法的一部分,美国证券交易委员会要求上市公司披露其制造过程中存在的“冲突矿石”。冲突矿石法案是指在矿石开采的过程中所引发的人权指控,受该法案制约的矿石品种包括钨,钽,锡和原产于刚果民主共和国和邻近国家的黄金。这些矿物质被广泛应用于各类产品,最常用的有电子产品,珠宝,工具,汽车零件和照明产品。这些矿物质也被应用在不被注意到的普通产品中,例如带电子元件的家具中。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所的律师可以通过供应链审查以及合规性审查来协助客户确定其是否适用这些规则以及如何遵循这些规则。

地方性贸易法规

对进口货物来说,除了美国联邦政府的法规之外,美国的一些州政府也对货物贸易制定规则。加州就是这方面的引领者。例如,加州实施的针对复合木制品甲醛释放量的限制措施;加州实施的供应链透明法案要求企业尽所能地披露其供应链中奴役和贩卖人口的现象;加州电子和电器维修,家居陈设及保温调节局规定对家居做可燃性测试 ;及加州65号提案要求企业披露存在于其购买的产品中所含的的或已释放到环境中的特定化学物质。Mowry & Grimson 的团队可以与客户或行业团队合作确保其销售行为符合其所在的司法管辖区的法律及法规。

Responsible Trade

The increasing prominence of domestic and international trade regulation and global demands for socially and environmentally responsible trade place a heavy burden on manufacturers and importers. As requirements change, companies must implement strategies to remain at the cutting edge of these changes and to develop and implement compliance programs. Mowry & Grimson attorneys work with both domestic and international clients to ensure that their goods and practices fulfill the private and governmental quality and safety standards.

Illegal Logging

In 2008, Congress began amending the Lacey Act, the nation's oldest wildlife protection law, to address the global plight of illegal logging. In addition to strict prohibitions on the trade of illegally harvested plants and plant products, the amendment requires that importers file a complex declaration upon entry for all goods that include any amount of plant or plant product. Mowry & Grimson attorneys were among the first members of a coalition representing importer rights and interests in negotiations with members of Congress and federal government agencies regarding the scope and implementation of the Lacey Act amendment. Our attorneys have aided both domestic and international manufacturers and importers in creating and implementing programs to comply with the Lacey Act amendment.

The Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008

The Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008 (CPSIA) and related Consumer Product Safety Commission rules and regulations impose a vast array of testing, certification and documentation requirements on many different types of consumer products.  These requirements apply to products manufactured domestically and those imported into the United States for sale and carry steep monetary and potentially criminal penalties for violation.  Mowry & Grimson attorneys counsel clients on how to comply with these and many other consumer product safety requirements and represent companies charged with violating the CPSIA and related laws.

Conflict Minerals

As part of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Production Act, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission requires public companies to disclose the presence of "conflict minerals" in the their manufacturing process.  Conflict minerals are designated as such because of human rights abuses associated with their mining operations and are defined as tungsten, tantalum, tin and gold originating in the Democratic Republic of the Congo and adjoining countries.  These minerals are used in a wide range of products, most commonly electronics, jewelry, tools, automotive parts and lighting, but can also be found in such unexpected places as furniture with electronic components.  Mowry & Grimson assists clients with supply chain auditing and compliance to determine if and how companies must comply with these rules.

State Regulation of Trade

In additional to federal regulation of imported goods, some states impose ground-breaking requirements on the trade of goods.  California is frequently the trend-setter in this regard.  For example, the California Air Resource Board imposes stringent limits for formaldehyde emitted from composite wood products; the California Transparency in Supply Chains Act requires companies to disclose their efforts to eradicate slavery and human trafficking in their supply chains; the California Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair, Home Furnishings and Thermal Insulation regulates flammability testing of furniture and California Proposition 65 requires businesses to disclose certain chemicals in the products they purchase or that are released into the environment.  Mowry & Grimson works with clients and industry groups to ensure that their sales comply with these California laws and the rules of all jurisdictions where they operate.