贸易救济措施

随着反倾销和反补贴诉讼,保障措施以及其他在国际贸易冲突中经常发生的为保护本国产业而针对国外进口产品采取的贸易救济措施的行为出现得越来越频繁,这些贸易救济措施影响到越来越多的美国和其他国家的行业,进出口商,消费行业,及外国政府。从1992年起,在为企业服务以及为政府服务这两个方面,Mowry & Grimson律师事务所已直接参与了包括在北美,以及欧洲,亚洲,墨西哥和南非进行的众多反倾销和反补贴调查工作。无论我们的客户在全球何处面临贸易救济的问题,都将会受益于Mowry & Grimson律师事务所在全球各地的富有经验的贸易律师的通力合作。

反倾销税

当某国的国内产业认为进口商在其国内以低于正常价值的价格销售同类产品,导致国内产业遭受经济上的损害,就会提起相应的反倾销诉讼。在美国,我们的反倾销业务包括参与在美国商务部和美国国际贸易委员会进行的诉讼;在美国国际贸易法院,美国联邦巡回法院及美国最高法院的上诉;Mowry & Grimson 律师事务所的专业人士指导产业如何参与并影响调查程序;并就如何在行政复审中降低自身反倾销风险责任向企业提供咨询意见。

反补贴税

当某国的国内企业指责他们的外国竞争者获益于不公平的补贴时,就会提起反补贴诉讼。反补贴调查的重点通常是提供补贴的政府,而非收到补贴的企业。因此,当遭遇到反补贴调查时,涉及调查的政府和企业需要富有经验的法律专家及顾问给予辩护及申诉方面的指导,并且与相关政府机构密切合作寻找应对策略。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所凭借对最新的政策及法律的全面了解,及对经济分析的强大能力,代理众多企业和政府对所谓非法补贴的指控进行抗辩。我们还对就国家和地方政府的工作方案提出相关建议,以确保其与国际贸易补贴法规的一致性。

保障措施

根据1974年贸易法案第201条款和第421条款的规定,如果美国国际贸易委员会(ITC)认定某类产品由于进口速度过快,对美国产业造成严重损害或存在严重损害威胁,那么美国总统可以下达对此类产品的进口限制令,该限制令有效期最长可达四年。美国国际贸易委员会首先要确定国内产业是否因此遭受损害,然后建议实施补救措施,包括诸如增加关税,配额,贸易调整援助或其他救济等。这些贸易救济措施将提交美国总统,并由美国总统最终决定采取何种措施。Mowry & Grimson律师事务所的律师兼有精明的政治眼光和丰富的专业贸易实践经验,可以在涉及201条款和421条款“保障措施”的案件中,向我们的客户提供代理服务。

Trade Remedies

Antidumping and countervailing duty actions, safeguards and other measures that provide protection to domestic industries against foreign imports figure prominently in international trade conflicts. As these actions become more common, they in turn affect growing numbers of U.S. and foreign industries, importers and exporters, consuming industries and foreign governments. Since 1992, both in private practice and in government service, Mowry & Grimson attorneys have been directly involved in antidumping and countervailing duty investigations that have been conducted throughout North America, as well as in Europe, Asia, Mexico and South Africa. Our clients benefit from Mowry & Grimson's ability to partner with skilled trade counsel throughout the globe wherever they face trade remedy issues.

Antidumping Duties

Antidumping actions arise when a domestic industry believes that imports are being sold at less than normal value, causing it economic injury. In the United States, our antidumping practice includes litigation before the U.S. Department of Commerce and the International Trade Commission, as well as appellate litigation before the U.S. Court of International Trade, the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the U.S. Supreme Court. Mowry & Grimson staff counsels industries on how to participate in and influence the investigative process and advises companies on programs to reduce the risk of antidumping liability through administrative reviews.

Countervailing Duties

Countervailing duty actions arise when domestic companies allege that their foreign competitors are being unfairly subsidized. Subsidy investigations are formally brought against the government providing the subsidy, not the company receiving it. When such issues arise, however, both the governments and exporting companies need legal expertise and advisors with the ability to develop a defensive or offensive strategy and to work closely with the relevant government agencies to implement those strategies. Drawing on its strength in cases at the cutting edge of policy, law and economic analysis, Mowry & Grimson has advised companies and governments defending against charges of providing illegal subsidies. We have also advised national and provincial governments on structuring their programs to ensure consistency with international subsidy rules.

Safeguards

Under Sections 201 and 421 of the Trade Act of 1974, the President may impose restrictions on imports of fairly traded goods for up to four years if the International Trade Commission (ITC) determines that overall U.S. imports of a product are increasing so rapidly that they are causing, or threatening to cause, serious injury to a U.S. industry. The ITC first decides whether the domestic industry has been injured, then recommends a remedy that can include increased tariffs, quotas, trade adjustment assistance or other relief. These recommendations are forwarded to the President, who then has discretion to determine what relief will be implemented. Mowry & Grimson attorneys have the combination of political sophistication and technical and economic experience that is required in representing clients in Sections 201 and 421 "safeguard" actions.